DaytonDefense Educational Foundation at the 2019 Gala to honor Dr. Cassie Barlow and Dr. Larry Dosser

  • 05 Oct 2019
  • Dayton Club

Dayton STEMM nonprofit to recognize two community leaders with lifetime achievement awards

The Dayton Defense Educational Foundation (DDEF), a nonprofit chartered to promote science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and medical education within the Dayton region, annually recognizes a community leader for their cumulative achievements, including their support of STEM education and the defense community. “We are proud to give the Dayton Defense Educational Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award each year,” says DDEF board president Deborah Gross. “It is an opportunity for us to recognize and celebrate these individuals for their great contributions to our community.”

For the first time ever, DDEF will recognize two members of the Dayton defense community for their lifetime contributions. Congratulations to the 2019 Dayton Defense Lifetime Achievement Award winners, Dr. Cassie Barlow (USAF retired) and Dr. Larry Dosser.

“I am personally elated to see these two wonderful people celebrated through these awards. They are both pillars of our community and have done tremendous work to strengthen its future,” says Ms. Gross. “These two were selected unanimously by our board and we are so excited to honor their achievements.”

Dr. Barlow, retired USAF Colonel and former commander of Wright-Patterson AFB, is the President of Southwestern Ohio Council for Higher Education (SOCHE). For the entirety of her career, she has been a relentless advocate for workforce development needs in Dayton, especially in STEMM disciplines and supporting the defense community.

Dr. Dosser is a Senior Technical Fellow at Universal Technology Corporation, and the former owner of Mound Laser and Photonics Center, a Kettering-based small business specializing in laser micro machining, cutting, drilling, and welding for DOD and the medical device industries. Through his career, Dr. Dosser has promoted economic development and the area’s leadership in manufacturing science education.

Dr. Barlow and Dr. Dosser will be celebrated at a gala in their honor on October 5, 2019 at the Dayton Club. To register visit http://www.daytondefense.org

Past DDEF Lifetime Achievement Award honorees have included Mr. Joe Sciabica 2012, General Janet Wolfenbarger 2013, Ms. Zoe Dell Nutter Special Award 2013, Dr. Raj Soin 2014, Congressman Mike Turner 2015, Dr Vincent Russo 2016, Dean Nathan Klingbeil 2017, and Colonel (Retired) Colleen Ryan 2018.

Fast Rope

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software